Jumpstart your metabolism

Things are going well at “Beach Girls Fit Club.” I’m happy to report that all three of us have lost weight. Just to be clear, we are not tied to the scales because we know that we’ll be losing inches of fat and gaining muscle. But it is nice to see measurable results from all of your hard work. It’s only been 5 days and Ann has lost 3 pounds, Erica has lost 2 pounds and I’ve lost 2 pounds. Yay team!! We’re totally excited and even more motivated.

I did Ann’s 90-minute yoga class this morning at the studio and it kicked my butt! I had heard Erica say that her class was hard so I had to experience it for myself. It did not disappoint. I was dripping with sweat before the midway point and its not *hot* yoga. But now I’m using my breath to create heat and it’s working.

I’ve been keeping track of my calories and exercise with an app called Lose It and I couldn’t believe it when I saw that the app only gave me 150 calories for doing 90 minutes of yoga. The app makers obviously never took Ann’s class. I do like the app because it makes it so easy to add meals and calories so you can see if you’re over or under the number of calories you need to lose the amount of weight you want to lose.

One thing that I think really helps me stave off sugar cravings and keeps my skin healthy is warm lemon water first thing in the morning. Have you tried this? It’s a great way to get your metabolism going and gives you a big does of vitamin C right out of the gate. Before my morning coffee, I squeeze half a lemon in 8-12 ounces of warm water and add a dash of cayenne pepper and then down the hatch! I started adding the cayenne to help control blood pressure and according to many studies, it has so many other health benefits.

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

